First Frost

Icy Princess Bedroom FR

I know what some of my loyal readers are thinking, doesn’t she live in California, has she ever seen snow?  Yes, you are right, I live in the great Golden state and you’re partial correct in your thinking, I can’t appreciate winter unless I’ve been snowed-in and my legs buried deep in snow banks.  For the record, I did see snow once, that was on the same trip to the Sierra when I attempted skiing, for the first and only time, which resulted in a broken leg.  Having said that, I live in the Silicon Valley, where we have our own version of winter and don’t panic at the sight of rain like our southern neighbors.  Speaking of rain, it’s been raining cats & dogs for a few days and last week we had our first ever rain day, almost all schools were closed and most business.  According to the weather folks, we were suppose to get huge gust of winds and heavy rain, they were concerned that the creeks would overflow.  Honestly, seemed like a bunch of smoke and no fire, so to speak, but I can’t complain, California been in a drought for a few years and every drop helps.  When I was a kid, we had a drought and had to extremely cut back our water usage, saving dish water to water house plants and letting our lawns turn brown.  One year, I can remember it like it was yesterday, it was right around Christmas, we had a deep frost and my backyard citrus trees were covered in icicles.  I broke a few off and saved them in the freezer, I guess I thought every drop counts! 🙂

The Mustard Seed Icy Fireplace FR

I was inspired by the colors Winter, specific the frost palette of soft blues, shimmering teals, creamy whites, and sparkling silvers for today’s interior design post using a number of items (some free) from current events.  I created an icy princess bedroom hideaway complete with a stacked mattress daybed from Cleo Designs for The Challenge Fairytale theme, frosted Winter Trees from Trompe Loeil (**FREE**), snowflake winter decor, and a cozy fireplace from The Mustard Seed.  I also wanted to showcase Sassy Ripples Gown (POE7 Gift), a sexy sequined aqua and black number with a low-cut back and peek-a-boo side.  I paired the gown with Chop Zuey Sultaness Set, available on the 12 Days of Christmas Advent Calendar (gifts for members and non-members) and Belleza’s new Christmas Group Gift skin, Mae.  I hope you have some time this weekend to pick up some of these deals and are inspired by all the magic of the season.

Icy Princess Bed FR

Finishing Touches Snowglobe FR

On a side note, my blog Hidden Gems in Second Life turns two today.  I honestly can’t believe that something I started on a whim has now become a part of my life for the last few years.  As I grow and expand my brand, I reflect back on all the post, looks, comments and suggestions, and all I can say is thank you.  Thank you for your support and readership. Hopefully, I can stop time and post a top 10 list before 2015, but if we don’t meet again till the new year, I wish you a glorious and bright holiday season filled with love, lights, good food and joyous smiles!

Belleza X-mas Group Gift Skin FR

POE7 Hunt | Sassy Gown FR

Interior Design:

On Gloria:

11 thoughts on “First Frost

  1. aylajzhoy says:

    I have lived in California too . . but I got back to Texas just as fast as I could! Old joke, but still – it’s true. We lived close to the Sierra’s and went up on the weekends during the winter. This is a great blog, fantastic colors and put together so well. CONGRATULATIONS on your blogging anniversary and huge HUGS!

    • gloriasilverstone says:

      Aww see dear I knew we were soul sisters from the moment we met. Thank you thank you for your support and constant feedback on each and every blog post. I look forward to next year when your blog will be celebrating a milestone as well. I’m so happy you started blogging your heart out and big hugs!

  2. Morgan Mickalobe says:

    I grew up in the San Diego region up until I was around 10 years old. Then we moved to Virginia (yep, Dad was in the Navy). I did not even own a winter coat when we moved to Virginia. Our first year in Virginia, we had one of the biggest snow storms in history. LOL! I wish I was around SL when you started blogging. I know your readers have grown tremendously. I am such a fan and I admire you so much, Gloria. I hope to emulate your hard work and determination in SL!

    • gloriasilverstone says:

      Oh what a great story, thank you for sharing Morgan. I always love when my blog forms a discussion and I can learn more about my friends background, bounds are formed. 🙂 You didn’t miss much in my first year blogging, just some blue lipstick and pink hair moments, LOL! Thank you dear for your kind words of encouragement, I know your SL journey will be amazing and everything who has the great privilege to meet you are fortunate because of your golden heart filled with love. ❤

Leave a Reply

