Gobsmacked

Yes, I borrowed my RL British mates term this evening to explain how overwhelmed I am.  Late last evening I was voting for some of my favorite stores and people nominated for the Avi Choice Awards, when I saw my name in the Favorite Model category.  WOW!  Thank you.  I have NO idea who nominated me, but thank you for your support and belief in my abilities.  I’m fairly new to the SL modeling world and never thought in a million trillion years anyone would know my name.  I’m having a Sally Fields moments :-).

This post is not me begging you to vote for me.  I share the nomination with the preeminent female models of SL, most of whom are either current or former MVW, and have been featured on covers of Second Life magazines.  To be nominated is the honor.  I simply want to say thank you to everyone I’ve met this year.  As 2013 comes to a close, I’ve been reflecting on the journey.  As I’ve mentioned in previous blogs, I’ve been on and off SL for 2 years +, mostly because of RL work and family.  Last Fall, when I returned to SL, I wanted to focused my attention on modeling and was hoping to renew some self-confident that had been erode over the years.  Yes, some of you might be surprised by that last statement but changes with jobs, friends & family can cause one to question the bigger picture.  Second Life served as a respite and shortly in December of 2012 my marketing hat fell softly back into to place and I started Hidden Gems in Second Life.  Honestly, I must have spent more hours than I care to mention researching the simplest thing and trying to figure out widgets, feeds, and categories (still haven’t quite mastered that one yet).  Yes, I stay up way past my bedtime to blog and I see post, ideas, titles, music videos in my head, that some (or in my case, one) might say  has become an obsession.  But to return each day to share my point of view with you is a great pleasure.  The greatest joy is when someone replies (other than my best friend) or I gain new friends from around the world because we both share a love for something.

I’ve learned a lot this year, not just how to blog or walk a runway….no I’ve re-learned the important things.  Self-confidence, integrity and standing up for what you believe is right. Through this outlet, I’ve shown my emotional side…I’ve been thrilled…I’ve been disappointed, sometimes I’ve even cried, but mostly laughed and grew stronger.  With heartfelt sincerity, thank you, I’m humbled by your love.

The voting period for the Avi Choice Awards will be open from Dec. 1 – Dec. 13 and the Avi Choices for SL resident favorites will be announced at the Avi Choice Awards show on Dec. 15th at 3pm SLT.

http://avichoiceawards.com/vote-for-your-favorite/

One thought on “Gobsmacked

Leave a Reply

