Flora’s Fashion Contest “Dress Up Spree”

This past weekend I challenged myself to enter a styling competition, Flora’s Fashion Contest.  FFc is a free on the spot design contest with time limits and specific themes.  I initially learned about Flora’s Fashion Contest through Lillou’s Design group.  Lillou’s is one of the many sponsors and donors of the contest.  If you would like to join the contest, please drop Floraniana (Flora Raven) a notecard.

FFC LOGO

_________________________________________________________________________

Flora Fashion Contest “Dress Up Spree”

Each contestant must a be a female who thinks she can dress up fashionably and win this contest within a limited time. There will be 3 rounds and 3 different stylings. The challenge will be given on the spot. There will be professional judges to judge the style and fashion sense.  It’s free to participate.  We have one contest each month, about 1 to 2 hours per round.  A lot to win nothing to lose why don’t you give it a shot and choose.

Prizes For This Months Winner: 

1) 1000 Lindens Cash Prize
2) Model Advanced Training Scholarship worth 3,500 Lindens Sponsored by L’Amour Management
3) Poses for the winner and picture on Ovation Poses Vendor
4) A picture on FFc Famous Wall of Fame
5) A gift card for Lillou’s Designs worth 3000 Lindens
6) A gift card from Eden Jewelry worth 2000 Lindens
7) A gown and tiara specially made for FFc winner sponsored by Pure Poison
8) A mesh trophy made by the owner of the contest herself, Ms. Flora Raven

There are many great sponsors including: Beautiful Deluxe and Pura Vita Wedding Services, L’Amour Model Management and Productions, Ovation Poses, Lillou’s Design, Eden Jewelry, and Pure Poison.

Judging will be based on the following:

1. Style: your editing; creativity; The outfit, accessories, etc must show how well you can coordinate and match accessories, including shoes, jewelry, etc.

2. Runway: The poses you select must be fitting and complimentary for the outfit chosen and be realistic to a model. Smooth and graceful (points will be deducted for choppy poses or inappropriate poses).

3. Walk: Your walk must be suitable for a model and the outfit. Straight lines when on a straight runway.

_________________________________________________________________________

Round One: I arrived early on Saturday morning having no clue what to expect.  The contestants lined up backstage and we walked the L’Amour Model Management runway to meet the judges; founder of Flora’s Fashion Contest Ms. Flora Raven, CEO of L’Amour Model Management & Productions Ms. Ava Jhamin, and Ms. Darlene Snowbear.  I didn’t want to peek at the exclusive Pure Poison grand prize gown and tiara, but I did and it was stunning, so if I wasn’t nervous before….I was then. The lovely and stylish judges gave us our first challenge; we had 20 minutes to mix and match two designer outfits to create a style that would be appropriate to meet our boyfriend’s parents for the first time, so we needed “to dress to impress.”

Personally, in my RL this is never a good move for me, I over think the situation and over dress.  Since, Glory is wiser and smarter than her real life counterpart, I thought do the opposite.  I planned on wearing something demure and chic.  I played with a few simple black cocktail dresses, but in SL I own very few black items (probably because I live in black in my RL).  I wanted to add a blazer, or cardigan, but unfortunately, I couldn’t get the alpha layers to work together.  I looked down at local chat and Flora say 1 minute left ladies.  I looked at Glory with three different dresses and an animal print blazer and said, “No.  Don’t overdress.  Don’t stress out.  You are meeting his friends and family and where would that normally take place…..not where an animal print blazer would be.”  I remembered I purchased a cute pink/green blazer at Drift a few Fifty Linden Fridays ago, threw on the only pair of jeans Glory owns, a lime green top from Prism, pumps & stud earrings.  Time was called and I wasn’t naked…thank God.  Somehow it all came together at the last-minute.  I didn’t have time to check my poses, so I used my preloaded huddle and prayed it would work.  When I was in line, I thought about where I would like to meet my boyfriend’s friends and family…..at a backyard BBQ.  Maybe it’s the American California girl in me, but I knew I could be relaxed and casual outside with beer in my hand (or in my case a glass of wine) and burger.

Anyway, back to the contest….. All the contestants walked the L’Amour Runway, around the water fountain and did 4 poses before receiving the judges feedback.  I was second and was hoping that my outfit conveyed a sweet girl next door look at a summer backyard BBQ.  They got and loved it.  Some weren’t crazy about the shoes, but other than the poor fit of freebies, I returned feeling pretty good.  After all nine ladies walked the runway (& no one fell in the fountain), we returned as a group to face the judges.  At this point, I realized there were top models from CoC, MVW and CWS in the audience, I was just hoping that everyone could relate to my point of view.  With a drum roll, Flora announced the first place contestant, Gloria Silverstone, and asked me to step forward.  I stood there for a minute and then said “wow, thank you.” I was honestly surprised because this was my first time ever embarking on a timed styling contest.  Five other ladies were selected to move forward to the second round on Sunday.

Gloria Silverstone, Round #1- July 2013

Round Two:  Bright and early Sunday morning, Glory pop over to L’Amour and waited backstage with the other ladies.  I chatted with the girls while in line when hostess, Summit Beaumont stopped in to say “hi.”  Summit was wearing a lovely red Lillou’s cocktail gown and large white and red feather hat; I suspected we might have to do a cocktail or gown round.  Once again we walked out to meet the judges and receive our second assignment. This time it was all about the holidays, with the caveat, no contestant could have the same holiday.  We rushed back stage to change into our holiday finest in 20 minutes.  I scream out, “I’ll take Valentine’s Day.”  It is no surprise to my loyal readers, that I love that darn holiday, single, or as a couple.  For this styling challenge, I had a game plan, knew what I wanted to wear and just needed to find it in the deep hell I call ‘inventory.’ (I really need to take a few days away from shopping to organize it, but alas…maybe someday).  So, the game plan was Sascha’s I Love You Pink 50’s style dress, Finesmith Love Nugget jewelry, and a cute cupcake handbag.  I had a few seconds to spare to check the poses and walks this time, and switch it up a bit.  My name was called and I walked out and hoped I didn’t land in the fountain, did my poses and told them my inspiration.  No one said anything.  “Oh no. They hated it. They don’t like pink, they are anti-Valentine’s Day and there goes my chance at the grand prize.”  To my delight, they seemed to like what I styled.  Once again they didn’t like the lavender shoes, I swear they are pink on my viewer, thought some of the prims crossed, but LOVED the cupcake bag, dress and hair.  Oh good, I thought as I returned backstage.  With only six ladies in this round, the wait was shorter and I was able to make some jokes backstage and a few new friends. 🙂  After all the ladies had a turn on the catwalk, we were asked to walk out as a group to get the results. Lined up as stylish holiday soldiers, I was selected as first in the round.  Joana Ryba (Joana Wingtip), Y L E (ylenia10), and myself will be competing next Saturday for the July finals.  I would love for you to come out and cheer me on (taxi).  I’m really excited, proud and a little nervous.  I have found that pushing yourself brings out creative juices that you keep locked away. That is probably my all time favorite thing about Second Life, you can be anything you want to be. You can try on many different masks and play various roles.

Gloria Silverstone- Round #2- July 2013

Flora’s Fashion Contest if a wonderful styling challenge that I highly encourage and recommend to any lady.  FFc allows you to stretch your imagination and opens up a world of creative opportunity.  It’s a monthly contest and more information can be found on Ms. Flora’s website.

And, a big thank you to all the sponsors, judges, and audience members.

One thought on “Flora’s Fashion Contest “Dress Up Spree”

Leave a Reply

